New Executive Committee and Happy Hour!

It’s a new school year and that means a new executive committee for the Crescent City Shapers! The 2013-2014 executive committee is:

Co-Presidents: Brooke Perry and Ben Griffin

Vice President: Rachael Bauer

Treasurer: Alison Maulhardt

We’re looking forward to putting together some exciting events and volunteer opportunities this year. Our first event will be a happy hour this Friday, here’s the details:


Crescent City Shapers September Meeting and Happy Hour


Bayou Beer Garden

326 N Jefferson Davis Parkway


September 27, 2013

5:30 pm

If you prefer your information in snazzy graphic form, here you go:

Screen Shot 2013-09-26 at 10.38.07 PM

Hope to see you there!

Panel Presentation: Future of the Claiborne Avenue Corridor

What: Panel on the Future of the Claiborne Avenue Corridor

When: Tuesday, December 6, 2011, 6:30 pm

Where: Louisiana Humanities Center, 938 Lafayette Street, New Orleans

This event builds upon the work of Dr. Renne’s students in the spring 2011 Applied Techniques for Transportation Planning course.  Dr. Renne will present a summary of the project along with local and national leaders to discuss the removal of the Claiborne Expressway.  Speakers include Eric Dumbaugh (Florida Atlantic University), William Gilchrist (City of New Orleans), John Norquist (Congress for the New Urbanism), Councilmember Kristin Gisleson Palmer (City of New Orleans) and Jonathan Tate (Tulane University).

Click Here for Panel Presentation Flyer!

Crescent City Shaper Leadership positions

All MURP students are encouraged to think about being in a leadership position with Crescent City Shapers. This student organization is very flexible, but can be a way: to network with other students and professionals around the region, to contribute to the local community through outreach, and to enrich your learning experience while at UNO. If you have great ideas or are interested in having more responsibility, please don’t hesitate to email Bridget Tydor at
Below is more information about these leadership roles.
The 5 positions that we suggest:
1. President
2. Secretary
3. Treasurer
4. Education/Outreach
5. Community Service Events
The President decides the agenda for the year, sets the dates/times for meetings and attends a majority of events and acts as the (Chapter APA liaison) (should be entering 2nd year)
The Secretary would be responsible for Online communication as well as taking notes during the meetings. (1st year)
Treasurer handles the money (1st year)
Education/Outreach Officer is responsible for social events and lunch & learns (these include Metro APA), it is also their responsibility to inform the secretary of outside events in the city so they can be announced Online and In Person (preferably 2nd year)
Community Service Officer should be more a focus this year, since it is required at Tulane and is a non-alcoholic way to socialize with classmates! (1st/2nd)
We need leadership to move forward! Cheers,
CCS Executive Committee